Serré Recognizes Volunteers in Nickel Belt

MP Serré recognizes 21 community members in Nickel Belt for their volunteerism

NICKEL BELT-GREATER SUDBURY – Today, Marc Serré, Member of Parliament for Nickel Belt, was privileged to award 21 local residents with a Community Volunteer Award in recognition of their outstanding contribution to our communities through volunteerism. These 21 outstanding individuals have each in their own way gone above and beyond to make their community a better place and have touched the lives of many people around them.

This year’s recipients were selected through a grass roots initiative where MP Serré invited residents of Nickel Belt to submit nominations. Serré was in search for nominations for candidates of all ages who have made a positive difference in the lives of an individual or group in order to acknowledge those who have put selflessness before self.

Building on last year’s success with the Canada Sesquicentennial Pin Awards, MP Serré felt compelled to highlight the many selfless acts that all too often go unrecognized and make it an annual event.

The 2018 Community Volunteer Recognition Awards recipients are as follows (in no particular order):

• Gilles McDonald, Hanmer
• Stella Legault, Coniston
• Amy Schoppmann, St.-Charles
• Brenda Tessaro, Greater Sudbury
• Paula Viitala, Greater Sudbury
• Linda Lafantaisie-Renaud, Cache Bay
• Carmen Portelance, Dowling
• Randy Crisp, Capreol
• Chris Hein, Valley East
• Emily Getchell, Onaping
• Karen Crisp, Capreol
• Monica McDonald, Markstay-Warren
• Cynthia Guindon, Verner
• Mandy Radey, Garson
• Betty Carrière, Gogama
• Cyrille Grenier, Sturgeon Falls
• Isabelle Chevrier, Chelmsford
• Kevin Powell, Hanmer
• Carole Larrett, Skead
• Fleurette Rioux, Chelmsford

• Brian Dubé, Capreol

“I feel it is important to highlight the good that is being done in our community. I would like to commend each of these 21 outstanding individuals for their commitment to volunteerism, for their leadership, and for being an inspiration for us all. We can all learn from the examples of these 21 dedicated leaders. I wish them all the best of success at achieving their goals in 2019 and beyond! Bravo!”

–Marc Serré, Member of Parliament for Nickel Belt